Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption


Noah Lyles and McLaughlin have won the USA Track and Field Athlete of the Year Award for the second time.

The two American who were also nominated among the 10 women’s and men’s for the World top Athlete prize, made the five finalists for World Athletics Male and Female Athlete of the Year Awards.

Sydney McLaughlin- Leyrone had a sterling performance in the season as she broke the 400m hurdles record twice in 2022 a repeat of her superb show in 2021 to claim the Jackie-Kersee Award. Surprisingly, she is coached by Joyner-Kersee’s husband Joyner-Kersee! She equaled a record as she became the first athlete to win in back-to-back years since sprinter Justlin Gatlin in 2004 and 2005. The last woman to win in back-to- back years was marathoner Deena Kastor in 2002 and 2003.

American sprinter Marion Jones originally won in 2002 but had it stripped for doping.

Lyles, bidding for world title, broke Michael Johnson’s American 200m record en route to the title, his phenomenal performance won the Jesse Owens Award for the second time after topnotch sprint that claim the same in 2018. He is the first man to win the award twice since decathlete Ashton Eaton in 2015.

With the aura of the American Athlete Award by both athlete going into the World Athlete Awards in early December, in the male, Lyles in the finalists along four non-Americans namely Eliud Kipchoge, Arnand Duplantis, Jakob Ingebrigtsen and Soufiane El Bakkadi.

While in the female category for World Athlete Award, Sydney McLaughlin-Levvrone is up for the title along with four non -Americans, namely Jamaican sprinter Shelly- Ann Fraser- Pryce, Tobi Amusan of Nigeria who broke the 100m hurdles record en route to winning title at the World Athletics Championship in Eugene, Oregon.

Others are Venezuellan triple jump world record holder Yulimar Rojas and Peruvian race walk double champion Kimberly Garcia.

Meanwhile, the other Americans who were among the 10 women’s and 10 men’s nominees for the World Athletics Athlete of the Year were world champions Chase Ealey in shot put and Grant Holloway in 110m hurdles. The last Americans to win World Athletics of the Year were Dalilah Muhammad in 2019 and Eaton in 2015. 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: