Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption


Nigeria national team coach Gernot Rohr has handed Rangers defender Calvin Bassey his maiden call-up for the double-header 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifying against Central African Republic. While Zaidu Sanusi has been left out for the 21 year-old.

Bassey who ply his trade in the Scottish Premier League with Super Eagles duo of Joe Aribo and Leon Balogun at Rangers has made seven appearances across all competition for the club this season with two goals and he is eligible to play for Nigeria, Italy and England.

But Oghenekaro Etebo and Wilfred Ndidi will not be part of the team as they are both left out due to injury, according to the Nigeria Football Federation.

Goalkeeper Maduka Okoye retains his position in the shot-stoppers list, he is joined by Francis Uzoho and Daniel Akpeyi. Captain Ahmed Musa, William Troost-Ekong, Victor Osimhen and Belgium based Paul Onuachu who are regulars in the 23 man squad.

The Super Eagles will host Central African Republic in a matchday three encounter for 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifying at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos on Thursday, October 7. The reverse facture will take place three days later in Doula.


GOALKEEPERS: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

DEFENDERS: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamiu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Calvin Bassey (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany)

MIDFILEDERS: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Innocent Bonke (Malmo FF, Sweden); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho, Leicester City, England)

FORWARDS: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Kalu (FC Bordeaux, France); Victor Osimhen Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk. Belgium); Chidera Ejike (CSKA Moscow, Russia)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: