Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption


Akwa United has been crowned the Champion of 2020/2021 NPFL season with their last game against MFM ending in a 5-2 win against the Lagos base club side. The Promise Keepers took to the major routes Uyo, Akwa Ibom State to parade the aura of the title as the atmosphere in the Uyo was a reflection of the beautiful city.

The coach Kennedy Boboye’s boys were in a celebratory mood as they were hailed by the fans of the club for lifting their first title since the club was established 25 years ago. But the second time ex-Nigeria junior player Kennedy Boboye will be winning the trophy, having previously led Plateau United to win their first league title in 2017.  

Akwa United with an unbeaten run of 18 games, Charles Atshimene capped the title with a hat-trick and improved his goals count to 18 this season and the most –clean sheets this campaign.

The Promise Keepers knowing the tasks before the fans, definitely their set ambition was to win with good merging, the team looking prepared, while MFM came to Uyo in fine form after edging Ifeanyi Uba 0-2 in Enugu in a rescheduled fixture to consolidate their position in the NPFL league table.

In 23 minutes into the match three goal hero and match winner Charles Atshimene won an aerial battle heading the ball to the back of the net to give the host a lead. The spectators at the Next of Champions jubilated, hailing the team, especially former Warri Wolves striker Charles Atshimene for the effort.

Akwa United continued the pressure to their opponents defense and the visitors were forced into an own goal just before the half-time. Samuel Amadi’s effort was sent into the net by Ubukama Peter following Charles Atshimene’s striking combination with his teammate.

On resumption of the second half, with the half break ending 2-0 to the advantage of home boys at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, former Nigerian international Mfon Udoh scored the third goal with a stunning finish after Ubong Friday had done good job with the ball.

The Olukoya “Miracle Boys” were lucky as the team was awarded a penalty, Michael Mbonu scored from the penalty spot, sending goalkeeper Efala to the wrong flight. Wisdom Fernando, who created an instant impact coming in as a substitute, crossed the ball to Charles Atshimene to score his second goal , MFM pulled one back before Charles Atshimene scored his hat-trick in 85th minutes and Dennis Obasi scored for the visitors in 89th  minute.

Gbadebo Taiwo, Charles Okafor and Marshal Johnson were delighted by the special moments in the history of the club, winning the title for the first time in 25 years since the club establishment, they said in a monitored local radio reports during the parade of the title in Uyo.With the NPFL crown now in Uyo, the Promise Keepers are expected to have a celebration with the state Governor to experience the aura of the NPFL title. 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: