Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption


With just 11 days to go until the World Athletics Awards 2019, the names of the five finalists for the Female World Athlete of the Year 2019 have been confirmed.

The five athletes, who represent five countries from four Area Associations, have illustrated excellence across nearly all athletics disciplines in 2019.

The finalists are (in alphabetical order):

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (JAM)
She won world 100m and 4x100m titles in world-leading times of 10.71 and 41.44.
Shelly-Ann Fraser-Peyce, also won Pan-American 200m title and won seven of her 10 races at 100m.

Sifan Hassan (NED)
She won world 1500m and 10,000m titles in world-leading times of 3:51.95 and 30:17.62. Also she won Diamond League 1500m and 5000m titles
Sifan Hassan broke world mile record with 4:12.33 in Monaco.

Brigid Kosgei (KEN)
Brigidi Kosgei set a world record of 2:14:04 to win the Chicago Marathon
She won the London Marathon, ran a world-leading 1:05:28 for the half marathon and 1:04:28 on a downhill course

Dalilah Muhammad (USA)
She broke world record with 52.20 at the US Championships
Also she improved on her own world record to win the world 400m hurdles title in 52.16 and won world 4x400m title

Yulimar Rojas (VEN)
Yulimar Rojas won World Triple Jump title with 15.37m
Also she Jumped World-leading 15.41m to move to second on the world all-time list
She won nine of her 12 competitions, including the Pan-American Games.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the World Athletics Awards 2019 in Monaco on Saturday 23 November.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: